iGTD

I’ve been using iGTD for a long time now, and it has become one of my staple, daily apps. GTD, or Getting Things Done, is the famous and very useful methodology by David Allen, for managing day to day tasks and lists, an excellent means of time management. I’ve always found the use of lists an effective de-cluttering tool. I tried out half a dozen less-featured apps on the Mac, including the built-in Sticky Notes and To-Do items in Mac Mail, before I decided that iGTD worked best for me.

It’s easy to use. You can create Contexts, which are broad buckets like Home, Work, Computers, etc., and also Projects that group items together, even across Contexts. For example, I have a “Shopping” Context which contains items from various projects, such as Computer Hardware, books, hiking equipment, etc. So at any time I feel like going shopping I can flip to the Shopping Context and get an overview of everything I have flagged for purchase across all my projects, and can plan by shopping day accordingly.

You can set a simple 1-5 priority to each task and I spend a lot of time sitting on the priority view, making sure I simply tackle high priority issues first. Recurring tasks are easy to set up. It has Sync functionality that I believe keeps your GTD lists in your .Mac workspace, though since I am not a .Mac member, I haven’t used this feature.

Check it out: It’s free, easy to use and very useful

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment